The Niels Lassen Award

The Lassen Award is presented by the International Society for Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism to recognize an outstanding scientific contribution made by a young scientist. The recipient is selected by the Program Committee based on an abstract submitted for presentation at the biennial meeting of the Society.


To be eligible for the Lassen Award, the applicant must be:
  • a member of the Society (Regular or Early Career)
  • less than 36 years of age at the time of the Award presentation
  • the primary author of an abstract submitted for presentation at the Brain meeting
The recipient of the Lassen Award will be selected by the Program Committee of the Society based upon:
  • an indication on the abstract form that the primary author is eligible for the award
  • exceptional quality of the submitted abstract, generally determined by receiving the highest score of all abstracts submitted by eligible members
Description of Award
The Lassen Award will consist of:
  • a bursary to partially defray the expense of attending the Brain meeting
  • an award ceremony prior to the abstract presentation
  • a certificate of recognition
  • $ 1,500 cash prize
The Niels Lassen Award has previously been received by:
  • 2023 - Emily McMahon, University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom
  • 2021 - Alba Graystone, Vall d'Hebron Research Institute, Barcelona, Spain
  • 2019 - Stefan Roth, University of Munich Medical Center, Munich, Germany
  • 2017 - Wei Cai, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
  • 2015 - Sjoerd Finnema, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
  • 2013 - Peiying Li, Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • 2011 - Virginia Newcombe, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
  • 2009 - Alyson A. Miller, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • 2007 - Kazuhiko Hayashi, Osaka Univ Graduate School of Medicine, Suita, Osaka, Japan
  • 2005 - Kirsten Caesar, Dept of Med Physiology, Copenhagen University, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2003 - Fahmeed Hyder, Dept of Diagnostic Radiology, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
  • 2001 - Sylvain Doré, Departments of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine &  Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins School Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
  • 1999 - Matthias Endres, Mass. General Hospital, Harvard University, Boston, USA & Exp. Neurology, Charite, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany


The Lifetime Achievement Award

The first ISCBFM Lifetime Achievement Award were awarded to N. Lassen and D. Ingvar at the Brain 97 meeting.  The award has been given every meeting since then to recognize exceptional contributions to the Society.  Nominations can be received from any member of the Society and reviewed by the Executive Committee who will act as the Nominating Committee.  Their recommendation will be discussed and voted on by the Directors prior to the next BRAIN/BRAINPET meeting. Nominations should include a list of important publications, positions held and contributions to the Society.

2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination                      
The Lifetime Achievement Award has previously been received by: 
  • 2023 - Jean-Claude Baron
  • 2021 - Constantino Iadecola
  • 2019 - Edith Hamel 
  • 2017 - Richard Traystman
  • 2015 - Pak H.Chan and Olaf B. Paulson
  • 2013 - Michael A. Moskowitz
  • 2011 - Marcus E. Raichle
  • 2009 - Cesare Fieschi, Takaaki Kirino and Akira Tamura
  • 2007 - Konstantin-Alexander Hossmann
  • 2005 - Martin Reivich
  • 2003 - Fred Plum and Bo K. Siesjo
  • 2001 - Fumio Gotoh
  • 1999 - Seymour S. Kety and Louis Sokoloff
  • 1997 - Niels A. Lassen and David H. Ingvar